April 16, 2024

The Indian cinema is getting bigger and better, and not just within the country but globally. The international recognition it has been receiving has grown exponentially over the last few years. It again reflects in the fact that many renowned names from the Indian film industry like Karan Johar, Ram Charan and Jr NTR have been invited by The Academy to be its member.

Karan Johar, Ram Charan and Jr NTR invited to be Academy member

Announcing the newly invited members, The Academy released a list of 398 artists and executives. It includes many individuals from Indian cinema as well. Among the prominent names are the ones of Karan, Ram, Jr NTR, Mani Ratnam and M. M. Keeravani.

Earlier this year, SS Rajamouli’s RRR bagged an Oscar trophy for its song Naatu Naatu. The song’s lyricist Chandrabose has also received an invite. Shaunak Sen, who directed the Oscar nominated documentary All That Breathes, also is on the invitee list.

Among the other Indian names are cinematographer K. K. Senthil Kumar, who also worked on RRR. Along with him, producer Siddharth Roy Kapur whose film Chello Show made to Oscar shortlist this year also made it to the invitee list. Director Chaitanya Tamhane also is on the list.

This year, Ram and Jr NTR got a lot of international recognition as they went for the international award season to represent RRR. The film was a favourite at the award shows and brought many laurels including an Oscar and a Golden Globe. Karan, too, got an international honour recently. He was honoured by the British Parliament for his contribution to global cinema. This is just another feather in all their caps, bringing more glory to India and its cinema.

Also Read: Karan Johar honoured at British Parliament in London, completes 25 years in Bollywood

About Author